27
Sep
09

SPIDER-MAN vs. S.H.I.EL.D. or “How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Ol’ Shellhead” — Spider-Man script sample

WELCOME, TRUE BELIEVERS…er, or rather, Honest Devotees!  What is this? This is my take on the “New Direction” for Amazing Spider-Man! (‘Twas reviewed quite favorably here!)

 
See, while conceptually I like Marvel’s 2008 decision to up-end Spider-Man’s world, there were a few issues I had with those few issues (of the comic that is).  Namely, these changes came about b/c Peter Parker (aka Spider-Man) made a deal with the Devil. Which is not terribly heroic…and quite a bit out of character.

 
The point of this was to make Spider-Man empathetic to readers again.  I get that. But there’re better ways to work toward that (and even undo the marriage to MJ if they want), and the “One More Day” story wasn’t really it. Another reason it wasn’t “it”: tons of plot holes and dangling storylines. And, for some reason, Peter seems “dumbed down” — he no longer uses his great intellect.

 
So in these pages, I’m undangling the storylines and doing what Marvel did: making Spider-Man fun again, bringing back his Web Shooters (they were removed to reflect the films, w/webs shooting from his wrists), and even bringing back an old villain they wanted to see again.  All of that while dealing with some very interesting unfinished business….ENJOY!
originally published on my old blog May 2008 (thus, story takes place during then-current continuity)

AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 547

(continued from my other post of ish 546 A few notes: Iron Man, who helped lead a thing called the Superhero Registration Act, where masked superheroes were meant to register their secret I.D.s to the government, took Peter Parker under his wing for a time. Tony/Iron Man talked Peter into revealing his identity as Spider-Man to the world…which resulted in Wilson Fisk, the Kingpin of Crime, sending an assassin after Peter. The assassin missed Peter but shot his Aunt May. This, amongst a web [no pun] of lies from Tony, has left Peter Parker/Spider-Man and Tony Stark/Iron Man/leader of armed force SHIELD enemies.)

PAGE ONE:

Nine to Twelve Panels…
Spider-Man crawling along something we can’t quite discern…shooting his webs on this building-sized object he’s crawling around on, creating some sort of shape with them. And, like the object on which he’s crawling, we cannot discern what shape he’s making with the webs.

What we CAN tell is that he’s outdoors, high up…and we can tell that whatever he’s crawling along is large, made of metal and glass (or probably some unbreakable glass-like substance, but that’s neither here nor there). Perhaps it is a building….

In one or two of these panels, about center of page, we should see him swing from one indiscernible object to the other…then continue his work…

What this was all about is revealed later….

PAGE TWO AND THREE:
DOUBLE-PAGE SPLASH w/insets.

DOUBLE-PAGE Panel :
Spidey making his way through the oncoming horde of S.H.I.E.L.D. agents! Spidey sense is tingling — BIG!

Inset 1:
Spider-Man’s landing atop the S.H.I.E.L.D. Helicarrier. Large Spider-Sense WAVES are shooting around his head.

Inset 2:
Close on Spidey.

1-SPIDER-MAN : OKAY, SERIOUSLY, SOMEONE HERE IS GIVING ME AND MY SPIDER-SENSE A SPLITTING HEADACHE, SO EITHER CHANGE THE STATION OR GET ME A BOTTLE OF EXTRA-STRENGTH EXCEDRIN – PRONTO!

Inset 3:
S.H.I.E.L.D. agents on deck taking notice:

2  SHIELD AGENT A: ENEMY ON BASE!!

3  SHIELD AGENT B: READY ARMS, SOLDIERS!

Following thought bubble s/b outside insets…

4 SPIDER-MAN (THOUGHT): GAVE AWAY MY LOCATION EARLY, BUT I’M HOPING THAT’LL TURN TO MY ADVANTAGE SOONER RATHER THAN LATER…RIGHT NOW, I JUST HAVE ONE THING TO FIGURE OUT…

TITLE & CREDITS:
Writer: K e i t h  P l a n i t
Artist:
Letters:
DEDICATED TO: Stan Lee, Steve Ditko, John Romita Sr., Mickey Demeo, Todd DeZago, Alex Saviuk, Erik Larsen, and Bob McLeod

TITLE:

SPIDER-MAN vs. S.H.I.EL.D.

or

“HOW I LEARNED TO STOP WORRYING AND LOVE OL’ SHELLHEAD”
PAGE THREE
Panel (1)
He’s made his way off the main deck…trying to work his way toward the location of the thing hitting his spider-sense.

1  SPIDER-MAN: …WHY SOMEONE IN S.H.I.E.L.D. WOULD PURPOSEFULLY MAKE MY SPIDER-SEN–

2  SPIDER-MAN: OF COURSE! TONY STARK…HE GOT MY MESSAGE!
(ARTIST: maybe the panel for the above line is a flashback of last issue [Tony analyzing the wall/discovering Spidey’s msg.]?)

PAGE FOUR
On this page Spider-Man begins to get overwhelmed by S.H.I.E.L.D…
Several panels, split-up as needed.

1  SPIDER-MAN: CAN’T HURT THEM, BUT THERE’S JUST…TOO MANY…GOTTA GET ABOVE THE–

Another battalion – just a small one — of S.H.I.E.L.D. guys bursts through some double-doors…there’s SMOKE at the floor as they enter.

2  SPIDER-MAN: UH-OH!

3  SPIDER-MAN: WELP, NO MATTER WHAT THEY THROW AT ME, I GOTTA GET THROUGH AND STOP WHATEVER IT IS THAT’S GOT MY HEAD RINGING LIKE THE ALARMS OF A FOUR-ALARM FIRE!

PAGE FIVE
Several panels, split-up as needed.

As the new soldiers join the fray; the smoke rises, and these shield agents turn on the others…

1  SPIDER-MAN: WHA– HEY!!

2  SPIDER-MAN (THOUGHT): STRA-A-ANGE!

PAGE SIX
Several panels, split-up as needed.
Spider-Man escapes; looks back and we see the others are actually The New Avengers in S.H.I.E.L.D. outfits (Should there be a see-through overlay on the New Avengers’ faces? The overlay being the generic S.H.I.E.L.D. faces they’re “wearing” thanks to Dr. Strange’s magic.).

AGNLE ON: Doc Strange looking to Spidey with a sly smirk.

PAGE SEVEN
Several panels, split-up as needed.
The New Avengers fight the S.H.I.E.L.D. agents, being careful not to actually harm them but distracting them enough to let Spidey get where he wants to go.

By the end of the page…
1  LUKE CAGE: RETREAT!

PAGE EIGHT
SPLASH

Still nighttime — The Avengers are jumping off the front of the helicarrier; where we now see what Spidey was webbing earlier: on the giant front windows of the helicarrier he webbed the shape of his eyes…essentially making the helicarrier itself into a gigantic Spidey signal!

1  IRON FIST: NEXT TIME HE NEEDS HELP, MAYBE HE SHOULD BE A LITTLE MORE SUBTLE.

2  RONIN/CLINT BARTON: I’M JUST SURPRISED THE OTHER AVENGERS DIDN’T SHOW!

3  DR. STRANGE: PERHAPS THEY MERELY ARRIVED UPON THE WRONG FLYING MACHINE, BELIEVING IT TO BE THE HELICARRIER.

4  WOLVERINE: THAT’D BE A DARN SHAME. HEH.

PAGE NINE

Panel (1)
Large panel: Mighty Avengers are on the (note spelling) Michelinie Tires blimp (it’s night still btw)…literally on the top of it.

1  ARES: THIS MAY HAVE BEEN A RUSE!

2  JANET/THE WASP: YA THINK!

3  ARES (THOUGHT): HER DEFIANCE WARMS MY NETHER REGIONS.

4   MS. MARVEL: I AM SO TIRED OF DR. STRANGE AND HIS TRICKS.
MS. MARVEL (THOUGHT): I AM SO $@!K% TIRED OF $C!$% DR. STRANGE AND HIS %F!@$% TRICKS.

Rest of page:
Spidey on the helicarrier; creeping through the halls, sneaking around, avoiding cameras and sensors and the like.

His spider-sense still reacting wildly.

5   SPIDER-MAN: IF I DON’T STOP THIS SOON, MY HEAD’S GONNA EXPLODE.

6   SPIDER-MAN: AND THAT WOULD BE AN AWFUL MESS FOR THE S.H.I.E.L.D. JANITOR.

PAGE TEN
More of Spidey sneaking around — several panels as artist sees fit.

1 SPIDER-MAN (THOUGHT): ALL RIGHT, TONY, I GET IT — I HAD YOUR NUMBER…

2  SPIDER-MAN (THOUGHT): …NOW YOU’VE GOT MINE!

3  SPIDER-MAN (THOUGHT): THE ONLY TWO THINGS I HAVE TO WONDER ABOUT NOW ARE…

4    SPIDER-MAN (THOUGHT): ONE, WILL HE HONOR MY REQUEST AND MEET ME AS A FRIEND… AND TWO —

5    SPIDER-MAN (THOUGHT): — WILL I BE MEETING WITH TONY, OR WILL I BE SEEING…

PAGE ELEVEN
3/4 PAGE SPLASH

Angle on Iron Man holding the doohickie making Spidey’s Spider-sense go wild.

1 SPIDER-MAN (SFX): IRON MAN!

Panel (2)

Close on shellhead clicking something off the electronic device.

2  IRON MAN: I WON’T BE NEEDING THIS ANY LONGER.

Panel (3)
Angle of Spidey — the spider-sense waves fading away.

3  SPIDER-MAN: THANKS.

4    SPIDER-MAN: THAT SUIT DISPENSE ASPIRIN?

PAGE TWELVE

Panel (1)
Tony’s got his hand out; two aspirin in his palm.

1  SPIDER-MAN: WHAT ABOUT A SODA TO WASH IT DOWN?

Panel (2)
Spidey’s downing the aspirin…but without quite removing his mask…

2  IRON MAN: MAYBE IN THE NEXT MODEL, PETE.

Panel (3)
Iron Man’s moved over to some equipment. We also see he’s near a desk, on which there should be stacks of papers and a folder we’ll get to later…Pete’s making a grimace, still swallowing the aspirin.

3  IRON MAN: YOU AND YOUR FRIENDS CAUSED QUITE A– *SIGH*

Panel (4)
Iron Man’s tossed Pete a soda from a mini-fridge.

4    IRON MAN: S.H.I.E.L.D. agents. Stand down. Enemy has been…overpowered.

FROM A WALL SPEAKER (ELECTRIC): S.H.I.E.L.D. agents. Stand down. Enemy has been…overpowered.

Panel (5)
Spidey’s downing the soda.

5    SPIDER-MAN: YEAH, SORRY ABOUT THE, UM, FRIENDS. BUT, YOU KNOW, WE UNDERGROUND CRIMINAL-TYPES STICK TOGETHER.

Panel (6)
6    IRON MAN: I THOUGHT YOU WANTED TO HAVE A SERIOUS TALK, PETER. AND, IT’S OK, WE SAW YOUR SPIDER SIGNAL…KNEW THEY WERE BOUND TO ARRIVE.

7    IRON MAN: BUT I DIDN’T LET YOU GET IN HERE TO SIT BACK WITH A COLA.

8    SPIDER-MAN: “LET ME GET IN HERE”? CUTE. I KNOW BETTER…BUT I ALSO KNOW HOW YOU’VE ALWAYS GOTTA SPIN THINGS YOUR WAY.

9  SPIDER-MAN: AND I GET IT TONY, I DO…

PAGE THIRTEEN
Peter’s removed his mask completely now…

*ARTIST NOTE: lay out panels as you see fit (more-detailed layout returns later on)

1  SPIDER-MAN: THERE IS A SERIOUS REASON I’M HERE.

2  SPIDER-MAN: I’VE BEEN DOING A LOT OF THINKING WHILE TRYING TO PUT MY LIFE BACK TOGETHER. I’M TRYING TO FIND…A BALANCE.

3  SPIDER-MAN: I’M NOT JUST HERE TO TELL YOU THAT, WELL, IF YOU WANT ME, YOU’LL HAVE TO CATCH ME FIRST. AND, BECAUSE OF THE RESPECT I ONCE HAD FOR YOU, I WANTED TO DO THAT FACE TO FACE…

4  SPIDER-MAN: …MATTER OF FACT, I SACRIFICED RESPECT FOR SOMEONE WHO EARNED IT TO PUT YOU IN A POSITION OF IMPORTANCE IN MY LIFE…WHERE YOU SHOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN.*

5  CAPTION (BOTTOM OF PAGE): *SEE MY LAST ISSUE, PETE’S CONFRONTATION WITH OL’ JJJ!

6  IRON MAN: I’M SORRY, PETER, I’M NOT A PSYCHIATRIST. WHATEVER ISSUE YOU’RE TRYING TO WORK OUT – IT DOESN’T SEEM LIKE I’M THE ONE YOU SHOULD BE TALKING TO…

7  IRON MAN: …BECAUSE, AT THIS POINT, I’M ABOUT TWO SECONDS FROM SUBDUING YOU AND CALLING FOR BACK-UP!

8 SPIDER-MAN: THEN LET ME GET TO THE OTHER REASON I CAME HERE. THAT BALANCE I MENTIONED. IT’S ABOUT GROWING UP AND, YOU KNOW, I THINK I NEED TO DO THAT.

PAGE FOURTEEN

1 SPIDER-MAN: WITH AUNT MAY AS SICK AS–

2  IRON MAN: HAS THE…CHECK HELPED?

3  SPIDER-MAN: YEAH…AND I’LL NEVER BE ABLE TO THANK YOU ENOUGH.

4    SPIDER-MAN: BUT IT’S MORE THAN MAY…MJ’S MY WIFE, IN NEED OF SOME SERIOUS MORAL SUPPORT – I ALMOST GAVE UP EVERYTHING THANKS TO MEPHISTO…

5    IRON MAN: MEPHISTO?…

6    SPIDER-MAN: YEAH. AND, BECAUSE OF HIM, NOT ONLY HAVE I REALIZED I NEED TO GROW UP, I HAVE TO.  HE– HE SHOWED MJ AND ME…

7    SPIDER-MAN: WELL, LET’S JUST SAY NOW I’M LOOKING OVER BOTH OUR SHOULDERS. AND I NEED TO BE THERE FOR HER. POSSIBLY MORE THAN I EVER HAVE BEEN.

8    SPIDER-MAN: SO HERE’S THE MILLION-DOLLAR QUESTION, MR. PLAYBOY BILLIONAIRE…

9  SPIDER-MAN: WHY DO YOU DO ALL OF IT? AND I DON’T MEAN “WHY DO YOU DO IT?” I MEAN WHY DO…SO MUCH? IRON MAN, HEAD OF S.H.I.E.L.D., LEAD THE AVENGERS….

10  IRON MAN: CARO– MS. MARVEL LEADS THE AVENGERS.

11 SPIDER-MAN: THEN, AVENGERS GO-TO GUY. AND HEAD-UP THE INITIATIVE.

PAGE FIFTEEN:
*Artist note: Split up panels as needed

1 SPIDER-MAN: PART OF ME THINKS, WELL, KNOWS, YOU’RE A CONTROL FREAK. BUT OBVIOUSLY IT’S…BIGGER THAN A PERSONAL ISSUE. SO…WHY?

The face-mask portion of Tony’s Iron Man mask lifts up, revealing his face…

2  IRON MAN: PETER, YOU DON’T SEEM LIKE THE KIND OF PERSON WHO HAS EVER ACTED SELFISHLY…

Over or around Spidey, is a faded flashback shot of the moment he let the Burglar who shot uncle Ben go – the impetus to Pete’s becoming a hero.

3  SPIDER-MAN: I–

4  IRON MAN:  I WAS HOWEVER. HERE’S A STORY FOR YOU, PETER…

5  IRON MAN: YOU WERE BARELY A TEENAGER BACK WHEN DR. STRANGE WAS NOT A MASTER OF MYSTIC ARTS, BUT RATHER A BRILLIANT PHYSICIAN WITH AN ODD NAME AND EGO THE SIZE OF GRAND CENTRAL.

6  IRON MAN: AS A HIGH-PRICED SURGEON, HE HELPED HIGH-PRICED PEOPLE. AND, ONCE, THIS INCLUDED SOMEONE FROM MY COMPANY, STARK INDUSTRIES.

7  IRON MAN: THE MAN ON MY TEAM WAS HEADING-UP A NEW ROCKET SCIENCES DIVISION, SO, SHOULD IT GET OUT HE NEEDED MAJOR SURGERY, MY INVESTORS WOULD HAVE JUMPED SHIP.

8  IRON MAN: WE CHOSE TO CONTROL IT, HAVE A PRESS CONFERENCE. WE PRESSURED STRANGE TO COME AND GIVE A STATEMENT.

9  IRON MAN: HE SAID, AND I QUOTE, “IF STARK’S CHECK CLEARS I’LL LET YOU KNOW THE MAN’S STATUS.” AND HE EXITED.

10  IRON MAN: HE WAS TELLING ME “DON’T PUSH ME AROUND.”

11 SPIDER-MAN: WOW. THAT’S KINDA—

12  IRON MAN: DISGRACEFUL?

13  SPIDER-MAN: I WAS GOING TO SAY OBNOXIOUS.

14  IRON MAN: THAT TOO…

PAGE SIXTEEN:

Panel (1)
1 IRON MAN: BUT I COULDN’T BE ANGRY WITH THIS BRILLIANT SURGEON, WHO WAS NOTHING MORE THAN A NAME AND AN EGO TO ME. BECAUSE, TO MOST PEOPLE, THAT’S ALL THAT I WAS – A NAME AND AN EGO.

2  IRON MAN: AND TRUTHFULLY, I ADMIRED HIS GUTSY MOVE.

3  IRON MAN: THEN, ONE DAY, I’M IN A TIN CAN CREATED TO SURVIVE, BUT I CAN FLY, AND I CAN SAVE PEOPLE. AND I DO. AND IT’S AMAZING…RIGHT?…

4  SPIDER-MAN: YEAH.

Panel (2)
5  IRON MAN: AND SO, I MEET OTHER GUYS – AND GALS – WHO ALSO SAVE PEOPLE. AND SUDDENLY EVERYBODY’S SAVING PEOPLE.

Panel (3)
6  IRON MAN: AND IN YOUR OTHER LIFE,  FAMILY, FRIENDS, LOVED ONES — THEY EACH HAVE THEIR OWN  DOWN-TO- EARTH PROBLEMS – A FRIEND IS DEPRESSED, A GIRLFRIEND UPSET, SOMEONE GETS HURT IN A FENDER BENDER — OR A LOVED ONE GETS AN INCURABLE DISEASE, A HOME IS HIT IN A ROBBERY OR DESTROYED BY A FIRE.

7  IRON MAN: SO MANY PROBLEMS WE ARE UNABLE TO FIX. AS MUCH AS YOU WANT TO HELP THEM, YOU CAN’T. AND YOU KNOW THAT–

PAGE SEVENTEEN:
Panel:
1 IRON MAN: –SO WHAT DO YOU DO? YOU TRY TO HELP OTHERS EVEN MORE. AND THEN YOU SEE THE NEWS AND THE THINGS YOU’VE MISSED – ROBBERIES, MURDERS, THE LYING POLITICIANS. AND YOU REALIZE YOU WANT TO HELP EVEN MORE. YOU ALMOST HAVE TO.

Panel (2)
2  IRON MAN: AND YOU DO. UNTIL YOU’RE LOST TO YOUR LOVED ONES, LOST YOURSELF…BUT YOU’RE DRIVEN TO HELP NOW, AND NOTHING CAN STOP IT. BECAUSE, INSIDE YOU, THERE’S A PART THAT KNOWS THERE’S ALWAYS MORE YOU CAN DO.

Panel (3)
Peter’s pulling his mask back on.

3  IRON MAN: RIGHT?

4  SPIDER-MAN: …SO WHERE DO YOU STOP, TONY?

Panel (4)
Shot of Stark, grim.

Panel (5)
Same shot of Stark.

Panel (6)
5  IRON MAN 4: …

Panel (7)
6  IRON MAN: I DON’T KNOW YET, PETE.

7  IRON MAN: WHY, WHEN DO YOU STOP?

8  SPIDER-MAN: TONIGHT. I’M STOPPING TONIGHT.

PAGE EIGHTEEN:
Several panels, split-up as needed.

1 IRON MAN: YOU’RE GIVING UP BEING SPIDER-MAN?

2  IRON MAN: …AGAIN?

3  SPIDER-MAN: NO. I’M MAKING AN ADULT, MATURE DECISION — THE FIRST ONE SINCE MARRYING MJ, I THINK.

4  SPIDER-MAN: SPIDER-MAN’S WHAT I DO – I DO IT FOR A LOVED ONE I LOST, FOR THE PEOPLE WHO NEED SPIDEY, AND FOR THE CRIMINALS WHO NEED AN OCCASIONAL KICK IN THE GUT AND WEB IN THE EYES…

5  SPIDER-MAN: …BUT PETER PARKER’S WHO I AMBECAUSE OF THE LOVED ONES WHO ARE STILL WITH ME, WHO’VE GUIDED ME THROUGH EVERY STEP, AND HELPED ME MAKE DECISIONS – WRONG OR RIGHT.

6  SPIDER-MAN: YOU’RE ONE OF THOSE LOVED ONES, TONY. NOW, WHEN I SEE IRON MAN, I KNOW WHO’S REALLY BEHIND THAT MASK, AND THAT GUY WON’T STOP UNTIL HE FEELS THERE’S JUSTICE. SO I GET WHAT I’M UP AGAINST, WHO YOU REALLY ARE…

PAGE NINETEEN:
Panel (1)
Peter begins to exit.

1 SPIDER-MAN: ME? I’VE GOT A LOT MORE IMPORTANT THINGS TO DO.

Panel (2)

2  IRON MAN: PETE.

Panel (3)
He looks back.

3  IRON MAN: THERE’S SOMETHING YOU SHOULD KNOW…BUT I NEED YOU TO COME BACK OVER HERE.

Panel (4)
4  SPIDER-MAN: IS THIS SOME KIND OF TRICK?

Artist: if you can show Stark here, he’s smirking, but not in an evil way…Tony’s still being nice here.

5  IRON MAN: NOT THAT YOU KNOW OF.

Panel (5)
They’re just a few feet from each other again, on either side of the desk (the one w/papers and the folder mentioned earlier).

6  SPIDER-MAN: FINE.

7  IRON MAN: I led you to the S.H.I.E.L.D. helicarrier, yes, knowing you could come and go as you please. You are that good. But I want to be certain you don’t take anything you’re not supposed to.

Panel (6)
Spidey, annoyed.

8  SPIDER-MAN: WHAT, YOU WANT TO FRISK ME?

9  IRON MAN: NO. . .

PAGE TWENTY:
Typical nine-panel lay-out, 3×3.

Panel (1)
Spidey still should be annoyed, fists on hips (or some other body language to illustrate this).

1 IRON MAN:  . . .I’M GOING TO TURN AROUND, AND IF THERE’S SOMETHING MISSING, I’M CERTAIN YOU’LL PUT IT BACK.

2  SPIDER-MAN: AND IF THERE’S NOTHING MISSING?

3  IRON MAN: PERHAPS YOU’LL TAKE IT.

Panel (2)
Tony’s turned around. . .

Panel (3)
Spidey eyes him.

Panel (4)
Spidey looks down at the desk, folder reads FOR EYES ONLY.

Panel (5)
Spidey looks up at Tony, whose back is to Spider-Man, head looking to the side, eyes closed.

Panel (6)
Spidey takes the folder.

Panel (7)
Tony’s in the same pose as described above, but Spidey’s gone.

Panel (8)
Tony has turned and faces the exit.

Panel (9)
Same shot as Panel 8?

4  IRON MAN: THAT’S MY BOY.

PAGE TWENTY-ONE:
Panel (1)
Establishing shot of a large stone and glass structure by the Hudson: GGI, Inc.

1 CAPTION:  ELSEWHERE. . .

2 RHINO (O.P): NOW, DOC! I’M READY NOW!!

Panel (2)
Extreme close on The Rhino, who looks tense and angry, drooling and strained…

3  RHINO (large): NOW!!

Panel (3)
We see The Rhino is hooked-up to some sort of equipment and restrained…There should be a couple of i.v. tubes connected to him, maybe even a large needle injecting something through his Rhino armor…

A SCIENTIST of some sort and a couple of lab assistants are nearby. The Scientist is standing at the console controlling whatever’s going on here…

SCIENTIST: HOLD TIGHT, ALEKSEI!

Panel (4)
Rhino is biting his lower lip, a drop of blood drizzling down his chin…His eyes are shut tight, tearing.

4  RHINO: NNNGGRRRRR!

Panel (5)
Rhino screams and breaks his restraints…

5  RHINO: WHHAAARGG!

Panel (6)
Rhino’s crashed through the wall…The scientist is calmly looking at readings as the assistants duck for cover…

Panel (7)
Small panel…

6  SCIENTIST:  Looks like we’ve got the results we wanted…

PAGE TWENTY-TWO:
Panel (1)
Medium shot of Watcher, the Latino one intro’d 2 issues ago (not the character Uatu), who’s looking after Aunt May in an undisclosed location.

1 CAPTION:  MEAHWHILE. . .

2 WATCHER: YES, MR. PARKER…YOU CAN COME BY ANY TIME. THE DOCTORS FEEL SHE SHOULD HEAR THE VOICES OF HER LOVED ONES AS OFTEN AS POSSIBLE…

Panel (2)
We can see Watcher looking through a glass window at May, who’s in a hospital bed, a nurse taking her blood.

3 WATCHER : HER CONDITION, THEY SAY, HAS IMPROVED ONLY SLIGHTLY…THEY MAY HAVE TO GO IN AGAIN…

4 WATCHER : YES, I CAN ONLY IMAGINE WHAT YOU’RE GOING THROUGH, SIR. BUT, I ASSURE YOU, YOUR AUNT WILL BE JUST FINE. MATTER OF FACT, I GUARANTEE…

Panel (3)
LARGE panel ¾ of the page.

The Rhino, on his crazed rampage, is rushing straight towards the building Watcher and the doctors – and May — are in…we can see the damaged GGI building in the background.

Yes, The Rhino’s charging fast and wild – and he’s comin’ right for Aunt May and the Watcher!

5 WATCHER (O.P. or in a window, not seeing the onrushing Rhino): …NO HARM WILL COME TO HER UNDER MY WATCH!

NEXT: PART 1 of a multi-part story featuring Rhinos, Vultures, Scorpions, at least one Venom, an Osborn or two and, yes, WEB SHOOTERS!

COME ON BACK!!

All Characters TM and Copyright Marvel Enterprises/Marvel Entertainment. This and other related posts is an unsanctioned writing project not affiliated with Marvel Entertainment or the Walt Disney Co.

1 Response to “SPIDER-MAN vs. S.H.I.EL.D. or “How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Ol’ Shellhead” — Spider-Man script sample”



Leave a Reply

